Tour life: Days 15 and 16

I just realized that I didn’t remember to inform everybody that Dom now has a drummer too! Dante Pope joined us at The Hamilton in DC for the first time and he has been an amazing addition to the band. I guess everyone has been wondering since I’ve been posting pictures of all of us and I’ve not said who he is. I’ve done him an injustice. Also, just a fun fact, Dante told us that he felt like his name was an oxymoron last night, and I thought that was funny.

Yesterday we left out from the Condon’s again, after a breakfast of pancakes with real maple syrup again. I can’t ever get used to real butter or real maple syrup. I use margarine at home and always have so butter tastes funny to me and I wonder what they do to maple syrup that they sell at stores because it doesn’t taste anything like real maple syrup. Alicia Condon and I decided that real maple syrup is almost more sweet that the stuff that they sell at stores, which is odd.

Anyway, we started on our way to New York City yesterday and played at Subculture. We have played there before and we loved the place. Last night was a really late show, so our set didn’t start until after 11 PM due to a delay in sound checks. I feel like that’s why there wasn’t many people that showed up, because, I think I’ve said this before, but 9:30 is my bedtime and I’m 28. So…. But, the crowd that was there was really awesome and we actually had a couple of people that had been to see our show in Winnipeg in Canada when we were at the Folk Festival in July.

When we left there we drove to Kacey and Jen’s house again and had a great night’s sleep. I know this because we ended up being late for sound check today at our show because we didn’t leave there until…well, it was an hour later than we were wanting to leave.

Tonight we are in Portland, Maine at One Longfellow Square. During our set all of the people in the crowd were tapping their feet and seemed to really enjoy themselves. As of now, we haven’t even done the grand finale yet! I’m on here because I ended up being on my computer anyway trying to Skype with my family, but I ended up using Pete’s phone to FaceTime. I got to watch my almost one year old nephew eat supper at his Great Grandmother’s house, and I wished that I was sitting there with him with mashed potatoes up to my elbows too. We are on day 16 and I really miss everybody. Even though the connection was really crappy, I loved being able to see everybody and talk to my grandparents and my sister and mom and uncle and see the baby! I’ll have to make this a ritual for Sundays, since we always have lunch at Grandmother’s house on Sundays. I hate missing that. It’s the only good cooked meal I have all week.

Well, it seems it’s getting closer to our encore performance, so I better end this before I’m late and embarrassed. Only a few more days people! Tomorrow is Burlington, Vermont, a day off to drive to Rocky Mount, Virginia and then after that show, we are roughing it and driving home through the night because we miss home so bad!

About conspiragracetheory

In 2015, I was writing about our adventures on tour as Grace and Tony. I have decided to spend 2016 on a new project called Conspiragrace Theory, which is a blog about things I believe, but have no proof for. Most of the time this will be things that I just blurt out and don't really think on or research. Some of it will be offensive. If you don't like it, don't read it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

