Tour life: Days 12, 13, and 14

After being so proud of myself for being caught up, things got crazy and then I got three days behind. Oops. The morning of the 12th started out with this…IMG_1075(1)This is a picture that Rob took of us. As you know, there is a cussing rule that has basically gone to pot since the beginning. The reason for this is because every time someone cusses, Alli gets quizzed on a capital of a state. Well…Alli…Alex (crap, why did I start this?) doesn’t know any of the capitals and so she just gets quizzed on the ones we know she doesn’t know and so she never makes any money. She also doesn’t attempt to learn them either. I don’t know what to do about that. What kid wouldn’t go learn the state’s capitals if they knew they could make money? Alex. That’s the answer to that. Anyway, here, Rob is taking pictures of us and instead of saying,” Say cheese!” he says,” Say shit!” and this is what happened. Hilarious.

That night we drove to Hamden, Connecticut to the Outer Space Ballroom and had a really great turnout. The best part of my night was the crab cakes that I had, though. In my head, I thought that maybe the walls of this venue would be painted dark blue and that they would have glow in the dark stars stuck to the walls. It wasn’t like that at all. I’m not sure if I’m disappointed about that or not. I think that night we drove for about 30 minutes and stopped at a hotel somewhere. The next morning we only had an hour drive so we decided to stop and get Alex a pacifier AKA a book. It was literally like shoving one of those things into a baby’s mouth! Really loud noises, then, all of a sudden, complete silence!

That night we were in Northampton, Massachusetts at the Iron Horse. Looking at it from the outside, it looked really small, but then when you went inside, it was actually quite roomy and had a balcony. During the sound check, we found out how serious Chris took his check…IMG_8231   I was really just trying to take an us-ie and then after I looked at the picture, I about peed on myself, and so did everyone else. Also, here’s a picture of us at the end of the night while we did our I’ll Fly Away finale…IMG_8227This end of the night thing we do is so much fun! It may be the same song every night, but we do it differently every night.

After our show we went out to a pizza place called  Mimmo’s that seriously had the biggest slices of pizza ever. Even better than that, is the fact that they make it to order. I actually had some really good buffalo wings that I ate like a wild boar. I’m not sure how wild boar eat, but anyway, here’s a picture of Pete’s slice of pizza…IMG_0511

That night we drove to a couple’s house in Malden, MA. We had never met them before, but because of some really awesome people, we were introduced and had a place to stay, and met new friends! Russ and Alicia Condon opened their house to us really late at night, but Tony and Russ hit it off and Alicia and I had to pull them apart so that we could all go to sleep! This morning we all got together and jammed a little, and I offended Russ by telling him that his voice sounded like Robert Pattinson. I then had to find a good recording of him singing so he wouldn’t be so offended.

Tonight we were in Cambridge, MA at Club Passim. When we got there, we unloaded and I had to go park the car with trailer attached. Ugh…. I knew it wasn’t going to be great when I started out on my journey, but I didn’t know it was going to be as bad as it got. I actually found a parking spot fairly easily. I pulled into it, but the trailer was still out in the road more than I wanted it to be. I tried to maneuver it around, but after I lost my mind in the car and screamed like a maniac in anger a few times, I decided to just get out of the car and take the trailer off. So I did. I slammed the door, threw my keys in a pile of leaves on the sidewalk and I stood there and unscrewed the trailer, picked it up, moved it out of the road sufficiently, and then screwed it back on the hitch. When that task was done, I found that I only had 4 quarters and the meter needed to be fed until 8 PM and it was 5. I had to pay for two spots because of the trailer, so I put 30 minutes on each meter and then walked down the street and found the first store I could, which happened to be a chocolate shop. The guy at the register wasn’t excessively nice about having to give me quarters and told me I needed to buy something before he would give me quarters, so I bought a piece of chocolate the size of a quarter for $1.25 and then he gave me enough quarters to get me through till 6:30. THEN!!!! I get lost! I’m thinking I’m going in the right direction, but I was apparently going too far north or something. So I was lost for a good 15 minutes and was late for sound check. By the time I got to the venue, I was mad enough to spit fire! I even had to go back and find the car, after being lost, and put more money in the meter. I did find it, though. But, the crowd was good and we actually played two shows tonight and the crowds were good both times which is more than we could have asked for. I ate two circles of stone ground 70% dark chocolate, and it was amazing! The taste was great, and the texture was the best. There was a gritty texture to it and it was almost like a ganache. Also, Alex has blazed through the two pacifiers that she bought…so….

We loaded up tonight and headed back to the Condon’s house, have chowed down on some pizza, and now we are going to bed when I finish this crazy blog! Tomorrow we will be in New York!

About conspiragracetheory

In 2015, I was writing about our adventures on tour as Grace and Tony. I have decided to spend 2016 on a new project called Conspiragrace Theory, which is a blog about things I believe, but have no proof for. Most of the time this will be things that I just blurt out and don't really think on or research. Some of it will be offensive. If you don't like it, don't read it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tour life: Days 12, 13, and 14

  1. Tracey says:

    Thanks for that hilarious parking story! It made my morning. Miss you guys!

    Like

Leave a Reply

