Tour life: Days 7 and 8

I’m not sure how many of you realized that I didn’t post yesterday. I think I’ve decided to write about two days together to get back on track, since one of those days is another off day. The first day you have missed, is our show in Arden, Delaware at the Arden Hall. There wasn’t much to say about the drive there, so I’ll start when we got there and I walked into a picture of Lead Belly hanging there in the entrance of him playing for a crowd of children at the Arden Hall. 20141003_165706 After we loaded in and were waiting on Dom’s band to get through sound check, I went outside to view their beautiful amphitheater they had to the side of the venue. photo 2And, you might have guessed that this was coming, but as I entered and was setting up our merch booth, the lighting technician came up to me and showed me a picture of him twirling a “staff” with fire coming out of each side. It is definitely a staff and not a baton. We had that conversation.

Catered food at shows is also something venues should take note on. They have a guy that volunteers to cook for the acts and in return, he gets to watch the show. They don’t even have to pay anything besides what they spent on ingredients. And it was a fine meal. It started out with a salad, then we had Miso soup, and finally, beef stir fry. The show went so well for us. We had, as usual, people crying after our last song, How Great Thou Art. And we probably had the best merch night in the history of our merch nights. I was really impressed with the reception that we had at Arden Hall.photo 1

We loaded up and took another trip to our friend, Rob’s house. We met his girlfriend Tracey this time, and I think Josephine, the poodle, liked us all a little bit more, and then we all went to bed since it was another late night coming in. The next morning, we got up to a meal that Tracey had prepared of a breakfast bake with sausage, eggs, cheese, and bread that was amazing. She also had bacon, fruit, yogurt, granola, and toast laid in perfect order on the table and it was an amazing breakfast, especially with the windows open letting the sweet breeze trickle in beside the rays of warm sun. As soon as we sat down, though, we had a surprise FaceTime call from Lenny Piazza! Yay!

It was our day off, so somehow, we ended up having that day off on the Tennessee/Florida game day. I’m not sure if that was planned or not…but….it happened. But, fear not for me! I laid in bed all day and finally finished the second installment of my Laurie King novels featuring Sherlock Holmes and Mary Russell. Then I started on my next book! Out of the 5 that I brought with me, I have already finished two in a week. Somehow, everyone but me, and Alli, have headphones, so when Alli isn’t demanding that I keep turning up her crap pop music, it’s pretty peaceful. Oh, and by the way, on the way to Rob’s house, Alli decided that her name will now be Alex, since her first name is actually Alexis. I am on board with her. Alli is boring, Alex is not. Feelings like this nurtured in my family is probably why I have a nephew named Konrad Wulfrick, and despite many people’s feelings against that, I feel that it is a very interesting and different name that will make him pretty cool in the eyes of his peers. So, Alex. Those that miss this post, will not know who Alex is. Okay, I won’t do that to those of you who aren’t die-hard blog followers.

Back to Rob’s. Well, actually, after the game we did something that is actually a secret as of right now, so in a day or so, we will discuss this. Just an insert here….for  your information, “Alex” has successfully assimilated everyone in our band and Dom’s band into 14 year old girls. Everyone knows the jellyfish handshake, and I just witnessed a highly detailed hand…slap…thing…with mindless dribble words accompanying it that she had taught Pete, our drummer. Anyway, we left Rob’s sometime around five at night and started our journey to Pete’s girlfriend’s brother’s house….did you get that? Okay, Jersey City, that’s where we ended up. Funny story….not….we spent 45 minutes trying to find a place to park for the night. I’m trying to decide if the people who have cars that live there have gotten the parking issue under control and those of us who are outsiders are just watched and made fun of? We finally found a parking garage that we had passed 89 times, and entered wondering how we were going to park with the trailer. We finally decided to detach the trailer and chain it to our wheel. What’s the world coming to? We then, watched Pete’s girlfriend’s (now known as Annie) brother and his wife (now known as Korey and Jen) watch the Michigan State game last night, which got a little worrisome at the end (note how I did not talk about how the Tennessee game went…), but ended up working out for Korey and Jen in the end, so they told us we could stay since they would not be needing to trash their house in anger. The night air was cool and it was nice to snuggle up with Tony and get a good night’s sleep. Next stop will be in Providence, Rhode Island at the Columbus Theater!

About conspiragracetheory

In 2015, I was writing about our adventures on tour as Grace and Tony. I have decided to spend 2016 on a new project called Conspiragrace Theory, which is a blog about things I believe, but have no proof for. Most of the time this will be things that I just blurt out and don't really think on or research. Some of it will be offensive. If you don't like it, don't read it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tour life: Days 7 and 8

  1. Ben Porter says:

    Please come back to Arden!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

