Tour life: Day 2

Day two was in Pittsburgh, PA. I am a Steelers fan, and as we rolled into town, we grieved with all the other Steelers jersey wearing fans who had to witness a loss by 3 points. In fact, during Dom’s performance, he held a memorial service for the losing team. It was moving.

Club Cafe was where we performed. It is a small bar with a listening room type atmosphere. Pulling up outside, I was a bit worried due to the enormous amount of bikers parked outside. They were not, in fact, there to see us. It was a total surprise. Speaking of bikers, I have to tell a story. On our way to the Winnipeg Folk Festival in July, we embarked on a tour full of house shows to keep us from having to fly to Canada and back. I had to rent a car because mine was in the shop (remember, it’s possessed) and as my spectacular luck would have it, the starter was crapping out on the rental car. I was telling my mom…okay…I was griping about my horrid luck to my mom and she told me to find a chaplain of a christian biker group to lay hands on the car so that we could get to where we were going. The very next day, my car started, I’m convinced, because God listens to my mom and we started on our way to the next show in Farmer City, IL that had quite a gathering of bikers. One, of which, was a chaplain of a particular christian group. My mother has weird ways of reminding me that God is tapping on my shoulder, quietly trying to remind me to quit freaking out. So, I told the biker guy my story, we talked for hours about mission work, and he prayed for my rental car. The next day, we found a shop, a solution, and made it to the next place without a hitch. So…maybe the bikers should have been part of my night.

The show went well, and I think we all had a good time eating the food and hanging out together. We performed I’ll Fly Away together at the end of the night again. One thing that stuck out to me, besides the memorial service, was the fact that out of all the younger people there, the older ones are the ones buying our albums. Maybe I can attribute that to the fact that we aren’t hipster enough to be slinging vinyl…? Maybe it’s because younger people don’t have as much cash as a retired man…? Mostly, it’s just fun knowing that we can appeal to all ages, and it’s even better when we get the comments about putting children to sleep with our songs about cross dressing, murder, and super heroes. Our albums are used as the newfangled storybooks, and that makes me happy.

I’ve written more than I thought I could for this particular post. I was apprehensive about it’s length and had spent some time researching a little about Pittsburgh. So, I’ll leave you with a few fun facts that may or may not be completely accurate, due to haste whilst reading the articles… Did you know?: Pittsburgh is the oldest city inhabited by humans in the United States? It also played a role in the famous Whiskey Rebellion with it’s residents forming a rebel militia to protest the taxes being imposed. So… there’s that…

I’m not sure if anyone is enjoying these, but if you happen to be, keep reading because you have 18 more days of mildly entertaining posts coming your way!

About conspiragracetheory

In 2015, I was writing about our adventures on tour as Grace and Tony. I have decided to spend 2016 on a new project called Conspiragrace Theory, which is a blog about things I believe, but have no proof for. Most of the time this will be things that I just blurt out and don't really think on or research. Some of it will be offensive. If you don't like it, don't read it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tour life: Day 2

  1. Kristine says:

    I love it! You’ve got a way with words and you’re thoroughly entertaining!

    Like

  2. We get a kick out of telling that story, too! Enjoying the blog. 😃

    Like

Leave a Reply

