Tour life: Day 1

Yesterday we drove to Peninsula, Ohio for our first show of the tour with Dom Flemons at the historic G.A.R. Hall. imagesG.A.R stands for The Grand Army of the Republic. This building was originally built in 1850 as a school, and later was a meeting place for veterans. Later on, the building needed some major repairs, and a man by the name of Robert L. Hunker bought it and restored it. It now functions as a Civil War museum and place to hold events. (www.peninsulahistory.org/gar-hall/history) It was absolutely amazing on the inside. Even the smell to the place took you back to the 1800’s. I am absolutely obsessed with the 1800’s, and so that’s why I know what the 1800’s smelled like. Here’s a picture of us on stage inside the G.A.R. Hall…facebook 1The show went well, and I feel like we won some more people over, and we have been trying to work up a song along with Dom for the ending of each show. Last night we did I’ll Fly Away together.

The people that run the G.A.R. Hall were generous enough to let us stay in the house of Robert L. Hunker last night, called The Designers Barn. 20140928_134532 And if you think the outside is amazing looking…DSC00765 Yea… we stayed here. I think there was a total of three stories to this house, and despite it’s beauty, it was the most confusing house I’ve ever been in. I attribute this to the fact that there were lots of mirrors everywhere. Example: this morning, I was coming out of the bathroom downstairs and turned too early, and came face to face with another human being! I screamed and as I swatted at the object, I hurt my hand on the mirror that was reflecting my image. Sometimes you would think that you were seeing someone in an adjoining room, but it was only their reflection in a mirror. Makes for a good story.

But…let me introduce Dom Flemons to you. photoDom is one of the original members of The Carolina Chocolate Drops, now gone solo. I think part of the claim to fame is the fact that there are five to six, possibly more, instruments on stage with him. Lets count… two acoustic guitars, two banjos, the quills, the bones, harmonica…Seven! Dom plays a traditional style of folk music that makes you feel like you are sitting around watching your grandparents play music on an old wooden porch. Dom has a new player with him on this tour, a stand up bassist and fiddler named Brian…I’ll learn his last name later and get back to you on that. It’s a wonder I’ve caught on to his first name, but it’s because he’s a really awesome guy and we’ve lucked out to have cool people to hang out with and spend the next 19 days with.

Today was just an all around great day. The town of Peninsula, OH is like walking into the past, which, to me, is one of the most amazing feelings ever. If you are blessed with an imagination, you can just stand there for hours and imagine the hustle and bustle around the buildings still standing and how things looked like in the 1850’s when there were no paved roads and no stop lights. FARROW! I found out Brian’s last name…

About conspiragracetheory

In 2015, I was writing about our adventures on tour as Grace and Tony. I have decided to spend 2016 on a new project called Conspiragrace Theory, which is a blog about things I believe, but have no proof for. Most of the time this will be things that I just blurt out and don't really think on or research. Some of it will be offensive. If you don't like it, don't read it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tour life: Day 1

  1. rondelrio says:

    I am so loving this… nice work! I hope you realize that I will now expect a new chapter at least every other day or so. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

